Washington, D.C.-

Super Committee Roster: Top row: Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX), Rep. James E. Clyburn (D-SC), Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI), Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT) Second row: Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA), Sen. Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Sen. John Kerry (D-MA), Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI) Third row: Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH), Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Sen. Pat Toomey (R-PA), Xavier Becerra (D-CA) (Credit: CBS/AP)

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi was the last to name her appointments to the Congressional debt Super Committee, but she has now, and so the whole 12 member roster is out. This is the committee which is tasked with finding at least $1.2 trillion in deficit reduction measures before Thanksgiving. If they fail, $1.2 trillion in spending cuts will happen automatically across the board, slashing spending in programs that neither party particularly wants cutting, making that a most undesirable outcome.

The members of the bi-partisan committee were chosen by the four Congressional leaders, Speaker of the House John Boehner (R-OH), House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV), and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY). Their picks are as follows:


For the Republicans,

Speaker Boehner chose

  • House Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) to serve as co-chair of the committee.
  • House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp (R-MI)
  • House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI)

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell chose

  • Sen. Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
  • Sen. Pat Toomey (R-PA)
  • Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)


For the Democrats,

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid chose

  • Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) to co-chair the committee
  • Sen. Max Baucus, (D-MT)
  • Sen. John Kerry (D-MA)

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi chose

  • Senior Democrat on the House Budget Committee Rep Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
  • Democratic Caucus Vice Chair Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
  • Third-ranking House Democrat James Clyburn (D-SC)

The committee is set to first convene sometime in mid-September after Congress returns from its five-week vacation, and its recommendations are due by November 23. The committee needs only a simple majority of 7 votes to advance a measure for consideration by the full Congress. Only one committee member is a Tea Party Republican (both self-identified and endorsed by the Tea Party), Senator Pat Toomey.

Explore Florida news here