You may want to think twice before aspiring to the presidency in a land where 100% of the former presidents in the last 60 years have been imprisoned, with some facing the death penalty, or were murdered during bloody takeovers.

Starting with Muhammad Naguib in 1953, Egypt has been ruled by presidents who have met with unbecoming ends fit for common street criminals, not heads of state.  Naguib ordered from 1953-1954 and was forced from office resulting in house arrest for 18 years by Gamel Abdel Nasser who wanted a more authoritarian government that could keep the Muslim Brotherhood under check while Naguib wanted more open democracy.

Next up, Gamel Abdel Nasser, who ruled the ancient country of pyramids and pharaohs from 1956-1970.  During his presidency, Nasser introduced new land reforms, implemented a new constitution, nationalized the Suez Canal Company, became a non-aligned nation during the cold war, and attacked Israel in the Six-Day War.

He then resigned office only to retake office following massive public demonstrations seeking his return to office.  In 1970, Nasser died of a heart attack while in office following the conclusion of an Arab League Summit.

From 1970 to 1981 Muhammad Anwar El Sadat assumed the Egyptian presidency.  Sadat is most remembered for attacking and retaking then the Sinai Peninsula instituted economic reforms and later signed a peace deal with Israel.  Because Sadat did not consult with other Arab nations first, Egypt was kicked out of the Arab League from 1979 to 1989.  His peace deal with Israel is also why he ultimately was assassinated.

Muhammad Hosni El Sayed Mubarak next became president, serving from 1981 to 2011.  During his time in office, Mubarak kept an iron fist on the Muslim Brotherhood, imprisoning thousands, often without trials and oversaw the secret police, who were responsible for rampant mistreatment and torture of political dissidents of all factions.

In 2011, Mubarak stepped down from office following massive demonstrations during the Egyptian Revolution, part of a more comprehensive series of events known as the Arab Spring.  Following his resignation, Mubarak was ultimately imprisoned and ordered to stand trial for various crimes alleged by the new Egyptian president, Mohamed Morsi, a member of the Muslim Brotherhood.  Mubarak remains in prison.

Mohamed Morsi leads the nation from 2012 to 2013.  Morsi, a member of the previously banned Muslim Brotherhood, ruled for one short year before yet more demonstrations demanded his removal from office.  Political opponents and western nations widely criticized Morsi for sidelining opposition parties and not protecting the safety of Christians or their places of worship.  Morsi was subsequently imprisoned by the next leader, Abdel Fattah Saeed Hussein Khalil el-Sisi.

Morsi now faces charges of treason after prosecutors in Egypt announced recently that he allegedly gave classified military information to Qatari Intelligence.

Abdel Fattah Saeed Hussein Khalil el-Sisi now leads Egypt, he previously was the nation’s top military general and lead the overthrow of Morsi.

So who would like to be the next Egyptian president?

Explore Florida news here.